Barcodes and text on the postcard?

Hi,

I am new to postcrossing, so my first few cards might have not been up to standard (at least based on what I am reading here in the forums :smiley: )
One of my issues is that, the cards that I buy in local shops all have bar codes and logos on them. I use stickers to hide these, but I am not sure, do these look like ā€œfreeā€/advertisment cards because of the logo?

They are totally fine. Most publishers print either their logo or just the name on the backside.

While I do cover barcodes with stickers or washi tapes, I prefer to keep the other information visible. Some people really mind if it is covered up (as they like to put this information as comment for copyright issues or just to check that publisher as they really liked the card).

9 Likes

Welcome to Postcrossing! Advertisement/free cards are very clearly advertisements in my experience, they have very bright, colourful designs with slogans and may also use generic stock photos. Personally I enjoy them!

All the postcards that I buy from shops/tourist destinations/museums/etc to use for Postcrossing have logos and barcodes on, I think itā€™s common if not universal. So in short, no, these donā€™t look like ad/free cards at all. :slight_smile:

Please donā€™t worry too much about this kind of thing, anyway! Whatever you send will definitely be up to standard, because itā€™s something youā€™ve written and posted! Thatā€™s the spirit of Postcrossing and the only thing that matters.

5 Likes

Almost all the postcards I buy have barcodes on them. The publishers (and stores) want different barcodes on the different postcards, because the codes are scanned when sold. Then the stores and publishers can document that ā€œweā€™ve sold X of postcard A, Y of postcard B, Z of postcard Cā€ and so on, instead of ā€œW postcards, but we donā€™t know how many of eachā€.

So thereā€™s no need to worry about the barcodes, they donā€™t make the postcards appear as free/advertisements.