Advice about starting a Postcard shop

Hello all!

I’m thinking about starting a shop selling postcards particularly for Postcrossing. I have a few questions though, both for the average Postcrosser and those who run postcard shops.

1. What price range are you expecting when you buy postcards online?

2. Do you expect to pay delivery for your postcards, and what price range would you expect?

3. Do you buy more than one postcard when you find a design you like online?

4. What sort of website is the best for selling postcards (Redbubble, Etsy etc)?

5. How do you make a profit regarding postage and packaging?

6. How do you advertise?

Any general advice would be much appreciated as well!

1 Like

Best wishes with your new endeavor. I can give you some insights into selling postcards; I’ve been doing it for close to 40 years. So here goes:

1. Modern postcards can be had very cheaply online. There are tons available on eBay and other ePlatforms. Just be careful and don’t spend a lot of money on postcards. Chances are, you won’t be able to resell them.

2. I do believe you should charge shipping for the postcards you sell. I structure my shipping this way: $1.50 to US buyers for the first card, $0.00 for each additional card purchased at the same time and shipped in the same package. With International, it’s also $1.50 + $.20 for each additional card.

3. I do not buy multiples if I can help help it.

4. For many years, I sold postcards on eBay. I ceased doing business on eBay February 2021. Their policies have driven many sellers away. I basically stick to selling stamp-related items there now. When I stopped doing bushiness with eBay, I opened my own store on HipPostcard. Not the scope of eBay, but I control my own store and can build my business. Here is the link to my store if you wish to take a peek: