About he meetup in Australia

Hi everyone! I am an international student from China, and just arrived in Sydney for about two weeks. I’m just wondering if we have meetup in Sydney or if it possible, some people interested in writing postcards or letters may have a meeting at some time?

BTW, does anybody know if I can mix the international stamps and domestic stmaps together in order to send a postcard internationally?

Thanks!

1 Like

Yes you can mix international and domestic stamps…but you must pay an extra 10% on the value of the domestic stamps. This is because when they are sold…their value includes 10% GST. But there is no GST on international postage. But because you’ve bought a domestic stamp…10% of the value goes to the government for GST. You have to make up this amount. Clear as mud right?

So…say you are sending to Germany. It will cost you $3.50

If, say, you choose to use a $2.70 international stamp…you still need another 80 cents worth of postage. If you choose to make that amount up using domestic stamps…you must actually place at least 88 cents worth of domestic stamps on (that’s 80 cents plus the extra 10 %). I usually just round it up to whatever I have). But don’t round down…then you run the risk of it not being sent due to insifficient postage.

Another way of looking at it is to always remember that domestic stamps are worth 10 cent less than their marked value…if you are using them to send overseas. So a $1.10 domestic stamp is only worth $1 when you use it for international postage.

It is covered in this paragraph here:

And this document can be read here.