1st Class Stamp Prices vs UK Average Annual Wages (1971-2022)

With these new Royal Mail price rises, I’ve been wondering how the prices of stamps compare now vs in the past when looked at relatively against average wages. I know there are so many factors that affect average wages, stamp prices, cost of living etc etc etc that haven’t been taken into account here but this was just for general interest - and I thought some postcrossers might be interested too. That said, I am not a maths expert or an analyst so if you are a whizz with numbers and I am way off the mark, please let me know :joy: Either way, it gives a loose idea of the stamp prices to average wages over time.

Where I got the data

For transparency, the data I got on stamp prices came from here: Historic Royal Mail Stamp Prices 1971 - 2019 - ChannelX and then if I remember correctly the prices in more recent years were 76p in 2020, 85p in 2021 and 95p in 2022.
The data I got on National Average Wages came from here: Nominal wages, consumer prices, and real wages in the UK - Our World in Data up until 2010 and then here: Average (median) gross weekly earnings by UK country - English region and year (£) from 2011 onwards.

How I did the calculations
  1. I took the average weekly wage and multiplied it by the number of weeks in a year.
  2. I then divided that by the price of a 1st class stamp to work out how many 1st class stamps you could buy with the average annual wage (if the whole salary was spent on stamps).
  3. I also divided the price of a 1st class stamp by the average annual wage to work out the 1st class stamp price as a percentage of the average annual wages. I have included the percentages but collapsed them below as I thought the raw number was easier to interpret than the percentage.

Example calculation for 1971 when the average weekly wage was £194.17 and the price of a 1st class stamp was 3p, the calculation was:

1. £194.17x52=10,096.84
  2. 10,096.84/0.03=336,561.33