Poscrossing as stress reliever?

So, I’ve sometimes taken a break from postcrossing and sending and receiving mail in general, because I was either feeling very overwhelmed, which would suck the fun out of it, or because I was entering a very busy period in my life. (Like I’m studying for upcoming exams or something)

Sometimes though, sending postcards seems to be a great stress reliever, at least for me. I’ve recently entered my final exams week and I’m understandably quite nervous.

Now I’ve found myself sending a crazy amount of mail (at least for me). I’m keeping track of all of it and it’s already around fifty maybe?

Has anyone else found themselves sending more mail when they are stressed? What are your experiences with using postcrossing as a stress reliever? Have you taken a long break before because otherwise it wouldn’t be fun anymore?

17 Likes

I definitely found it/find it a great hobby, good distraction & stress reliever especially last fall - I joined in July 2020 & was delighted to find such a cool hobby during this pandemic, but you do have to balance it out as it is some work to do lots of swaps or official cards.

There are very clear steps to follow which you can get into a nice flowing state with - choosing a card, choosing & applying the stamps, adding the regular things to a card like the city, date, temp, ID etc & then addressing it, writing your message, adding any decorations & mailing it.

I’ve slowed down a lot since my first 6 months - I pace myself more now. I used to rush to get cards done to get them into the first mail pickup of the day & now I don’t worry about it much at all having learned a lot more about how my Canadian & the international postal systems work, lol I’m happy now if they make the mail within a couple of days of drawing an address.

4 Likes

I joined Postcrossing, in large part, because of the pandemic.
I like sending mail. And Postcrossing releases so many happy endorphins, so it is a natural fit for me.