Newbie from the UK looking for some advice?

Hello All

I’m a newbie to Postcrossing, a friend told me about this. Since then I have told two other people and both have also signed up and started to send.

My question is - When sending a standard postcard international how much does it cost?

The lady at the post office didn’t know the answer… I have seen something about its £1.70 , by the way I’m in the UK…

Please help as I am dying to send my first one…

According to Prices of stamps for postcards in all countries/territories (wiki) the prices from UK are as following:

1 Like

Thank you Norway_girl …

You’re welcome @MissBusyBee! I hope you’ll enjoy Postcrossing!

If you use “International Standard”, you must mark the card “by AIR MAIL” or put on the Royal Mail sticker. If you use “International Economy” no marking is required (and “by AIR MAIL” is not allowed).

You can either buy stamps which cost £1.70, or you can use two first class stamps (because they’re 85p each so they add together to make £1.70). I’ve got lots of pretty first class stamps so I like to use them.

@MissBusyBee .
Hi, Yes its £1.70 - it went up on 01 Jan. As another post said, 2 first class stamps means you can just drop the card in a letter box. Postage stamps seem a bit cheaper if you buy in bulk off the Royal Mail website (suggest you do the maths, I may be mistaken). They arrive promptly and its easy to get the fun new issues, if you like them. My PO rarely has this. Some folks may recommend other websites but I’ve never been sure how legal they are.

I’m fairly sure that the Royal Mail website just sells stamps at face value.

I have seen discounted stamps on a famous auction site, but if you do buy them there make sure they are genuinely unused and not merely “unfranked” which means they’ve been through the postal system before (and therefore shouldn’t be reused). If they’re described as unfranked, gum-free or for philatelic interest only, give them a swerve.