Keeping getting the same countries (sending and receiving)

Wondering how I can request different countries to send list cards to? I’m new to this but the majority of my cards are going to Germany. I have only gotten three other countries and all my other cards are going to Germany? Is this common? I keep wondering if I clicked something I shouldn’t have. I’d just prefer more variety. Any thoughts? Thank you

Angela

9 Likes

@ispeak4trees Check your account profile to see if you have the “repeated countries” box checked. If so, then un-check it.

5 Likes

Awe ha, thank you so much :blush: just changed it hoping this will help!

4 Likes

It will help some, but Germany has the 5th largest membership on Postcrossing, so you will draw addresses for there often - the excellent news is mail to & from Germany goes quite quickly, so your numbers of cards received will go up quickly and then your limit on how many cards you can send increases faster too. Plus you’ll get lots of cool cards from Germany.

33 Likes

Yes, I’m always happy about Germany, Netherlands and Finland. OK, that’s nothing exotic, but there vill be receiving in 4-14 days.

15 Likes

My husband recently had received 13 more cards than sent. He doesn’t send many cards, so it was going to take him ages. So he deliberately ticked the frequent countries box to get lots of cards to Germany, and out of that situation quicker.

And of course, each person is different, even if they do all live in Germany.

12 Likes

I’ve been here for a few months now, and most of my cards go to Germany too - as @LC-Canada said they have quite a large membership here on Postcrossing. But you will get other countries as time goes on. Yesterday I got Belarus and Portugal which I believe were both firsts for me!

6 Likes

I think ‘activity of sending’ is the more important factor (as every arrival sends the sender’s adress to the pool to be drawn), and here DE even is number one with 2,3 mio more sent cards than second RU.

10 Likes