All about IndiaPost - Questions, News, Help

There has been a price increase that was published in the May 30th gazette. I’m only learning of this now and I thought I’d share it here. I believe the new changes are already in effect but the IndiaPost website (rate calculator) doesn’t reflect these changes.

Edit: New rates can be viewed under the ‘Tariff’ tab:

Postcard Rates

Surface Mail

- Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Bhutan - 8 Rs
- APPU Countries(Except Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Bhutan) - 10 Rs
- UPU Countries(Except APPU Countries) - 12 Rs

Airmail

- Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Bhutan - 10 Rs
- Other countries - 15 Rs

Letter Rates

Surface Mail

- USA - Upto 20gms - 32Rs
For every additional 20 gms - 22Rs

- Countries except USA - Upto 20gms- 25 Rs
For every additional 20 gms - 15 Rs

Airmail

Air surcharge table:

Based on this, airmail rates look to be

USA (upto 20gms) - 40Rrs
Australia (upto 20gms) - 33Rs
Countries in Asia (upto 20gms )- 29Rs
Countries in Europe (upto 20gms) - 30Rs
Countries in Africa (upto 20gms) - 30Rs
Countries in South America (upto 20gms) - 35Rs

9 Likes

:disappointed: :disappointed: :disappointed:

1 Like

Yes that’s true… 2 days ago I sent birthday RR and it’s cost me a lot

USA/ Canada -39 ₹
European Union - 29 ₹
Africa - 29 ₹

1 Like

The cost of sending postcards still remain the same, I believe, at ₹12 to most countries.

Hi Postcrossers,

I am new to postcrossing and just posted my first set of postcards. The post office asked me to put Rs 30 stamps on cards to Europe and Asia and a Rs 40 stamp for cards to the US.

Is this right? I see that the post office website says that international postcards need Rs 15 stamps.

Will my postcard go by airmail automatically or should I have written ‘by airmail’ on them?

Thank you so much.

Hi @amitoj, welcome to Postcrossing!

15 rupees is the postage for a postcard. The prices you have been quoted is for an envelope.