All about handwriting

Edited by moderator
Here 3 topics were mixed together in which all sorts handwriting was discussed together: cursive, print, messy, unreadable and so on.
Please don’t show backsides of cards here.

Recently, I had someone asking me if it was ok to write in cursive for me to read. Because in some countries, people don’t learn cursive, and for them is very troublesome to read. I recently started learning calligraphy of cursive and I wonder if it’s common for people in your country to be able to read it? I would like to know because then I could have an idea for which country I can send cursive card to. Thank you! :slight_smile:

18 Likes

It depends on the generation, in America, or at least in my area they stopped teaching cursive in schools in the 2000s to 2010s, and those who were born in the late nineties usually adapt to writing in print. So someone who’s 25 or younger might not understand, and for 35-55 I think they tend to write either or, but understand both, and for the older generation that’s all they know! My great grandma, (91) can’t even understand printed handwriting. I was given a booklet of cursive in elementary school, so I taught myself and adapted it into my handwriting at a young age, so I can write it, and understand but my handwriting just looks messy haha.

20 Likes

I don’t have problem reading cursive writing. It was taught in elementary school.
I think some younger generation in my country (born after 2000) may have problem reading cursive.

3 Likes

I have no problem reading cursive as long as the writer makes each letter distinct. I have trouble reading it when someone’s cursive style is extremely “bubbly” and all the m’s and n’s begin to look like u’s and w’s.

8 Likes

It depends on the form of cursive, I think. This is the one I learned in school: